Was Butterworth’s Really Haunted?

Before I went to sleep last night, I was thinking about all of the hats that I have worn in my life and all of the jobs that I have held. Some are forgettable, while others stand out like a beacon in the night. 

My first job was at a restaurant called Butterworth’s in Auburn, California. I was 15 years old, and started out as a bus girl. My sister Deni was the strolling guitar playing singer on Friday and Saturday nights, and actually got me the job. 

My parents were a bit reluctant to allow me to work, but I begged, and begged. They were sure that it would affect my schoolwork, and my activities. They finally gave in, and allowed me to work Saturday lunches, and Sunday brunches. During the summer months I worked a few lunches and dinners, and quickly graduated to waitress. 

Butterworth’s was a huge old house that was perched on top of a hill in lower town. Built in 1884, and haunted, it had quite a history. Mr. and Mrs. Butterworth were the proprietors, and actually lived upstairs. 

Most of us who worked there had at least one encounter with the spirits that roamed the restaurant. My sister used to see the clock face open and close every night at 7:30, and there was always something going on in the wine cellar. I was always a bit apprehensive if I had to run down to get a bottle of wine. It was freezing, and it wasn’t unusual to hear whispering. 

I remember setting up for dinner after we had closed for lunch one hot summer day. I was putting silverware on the tables and heard someone calling my name. I thought it was the cook, or Mr. and Mrs. B, but when I went in the kitchen, nobody was there…I thought it was strange and didn’t give it a second thought until someone, or something, decided to pull on my skirt. It was a definite tug, and not the air conditioner as Mrs. B had suggested. 

Mr. and Mrs. B were going out of town one weekend, and asked me if I wanted to watch the house while they were gone. Of course, I didn’t want to house sit alone, so I asked one of the other servers to join me. Robyn and I were thrilled. Thoughts of raiding the refrigerator and gorging on chocolate mousse and key lime pie filled our heads, but there was some apprehension. I had already had a few ghostly encounters, and wondered if they would make their presence known that weekend. 

Robyn and I had a great time until about 3:00 AM when we both discovered the witching hour. We were sleeping in the spare room and woke up to a strange smell and a very cold draft. We were scared, but even more so when we felt a heavy weight at the end of the bed. We both prayed and begged whatever was in the room to go away. We woke up the next morning to a puddle of water in the set up room. Apparently, we had pissed off the presence because the water pitcher had been shoved under the tap, and was still flowing when we went downstairs. We both know we had turned everything off the night before. 

That was my last summer at Butterworth’s, and the restaurant was eventually sold after Mr. B passed away. I heard an interesting story a few years later from a friend who had called to make a reservation. She told me that a man with an English accent had answered the phone. She arrived at 7:00 that night, but was told her name wasn’t on the reservation list. She told the hostess that a man with an English accent took her reservation. The hostess had an odd look on her face and said that the only men who worked there were the cooks and the dishwasher, and neither one of them had an English accent. She also said that this wasn’t the first time that this had happened.  Although by that time Mr. B. had been gone for a couple of years, I can’t help but wonder if he could have been the one on the line taking my friends reservations.

14 responses to “Was Butterworth’s Really Haunted?

  1. Mrs. B (aka Grams) did tell me that there was a ghost that lived there….and that several of the staff had had encounters with it. 🙂

  2. Yes Lois, that clock rarely missed dinner at 7:30! But we had some pretty interesting human visitors, as well. One regular patron would always order the best cut of prime rib, & then put so much ketchup on it you would swear he’d murdered somebody!

  3. I now live in the Butterworth’s actual house, the stone house on old airport rd. My husband and I bought the house 2 years ago. I would love to connect with anyone who knew them! I know Mr. Butterworth passed away in the bedroom upstairs. they were a hard working couple, I hear.

    • Thank-you so much for commenting Laura and that is really cool about you buying the Butterworth’s residence. I am going to put your comment on my FB page as I have reconnected with quite a few of the old staff. I’m sure that my sister will chime in on this post as well as she worked at Butterworth’s longer than I did. Again, thank-you for posting and hopefully some of the B’worths crew will comment on this post.

      • Thanks Lois! Too bad the restaurant is gone:( I heard it was a great place to eat. Never knew it was haunted! I believe the house I am in has a kindly spirit wandering about as well…lol Might be Mr. B!

    • Hey there Laura. The Butterworth’s were my grandparents. I spent a lot of time at the house on old airport rd…in fact I lived there with Grams (Mrs. B) for 6 months when I moved to the area in 1996. That is an awesome house and property. She worked so hard on it. It was too bad that my grandfather passed away so soon after they retired and moved there…I’d say within a year or 2. He did die at Auburn Faith hospital though…not at the house. I was at the house with my dad when we got the news. I would love to meet up sometime and tell you what I know of your place. I live in lincoln now. I actually got married there right before she moved out in 2002! 🙂

      • Hi Deanna! So wonderful to hear from you! I have been trying to get as much history and background on this house as possible. You’ve made my day:) Could you come by on a Saturday or Sunday sometime within the next week or 2? My husband and I would love to hear about your grandparents and all the memories you have, and if you have any pictures? Our neighbor, Craig Miller has told us quite a bit already about Mrs. B:) She was a sweetheart. I also have an elderly friend, Louise King, who was friends with Mrs. B. through her church. And we actually met a woman (while we were looking at the house, before we bought it) who lived here before your grandparents. She visits every now and then and has given me old pics to scan. Her name is Cindy Batee, and she spent summers here with her stepdad and mother back in the 70’s. She happened to drive up one day when we were walking around the property – quite serendipitous! My cell is 281-222-4823. Please give me a call. I am so very very happy to hear from you, Deanna. I thank Lois for having this blog:) You can also find me on FB, we have lots of pics up of the house and gardens! It’s great to hear you were married here! Lots of joy on this Bowman Acre.

      • I am so thrilled that the two of you have connected! I know that Mr. and Mrs. B will be within earshot when you first meet. I can’t wait to hear more!

  4. I would love to come and visit! I emailed my dad this evening to ask if he has some pictures he can scan to me…I know there were some floating around from Grams and of course I have some of the wedding and other times. Craig and Valerie were such good people and neighbors to Grams. I’m glad they are still there! I will give you a call in the next couple days. Thanks for the invitation!

    • yes, yes, please give me a call, Deanna. If you could come by this Saturday or Sunday, or next weekend it would be wonderful! My husband works out of town during the week, and I know he’d love to meet you and hear the stories as well:) That’s why I’m trying for a weekend:) I was told by Craig that when Mrs. B moved she couldn’t find the urn she had buried with Mr. B’s ashes? he said they dug all around the area where it was buried, but could not find him. I feel like I should get a metal detector and find it! Do you know about this? I have so many questions, sorry…lol Thanks again, Deanna. Please give me a call.

Leave a comment